CONGRATULATIONS to Haras from Kempton Park for being the first person to reach Elephant status (2,000 points). WELL DONE Haras!!!


Since 1920, the Reserve bank has been served by eight Governors.

The current Governor, Ms Gill Marcus, is the first woman to lead the bank.

Each of the banknotes issued by the Reserve Bank, bear the signature of the Governor at the time on the front of the banknote, located on the bottom left of the note.

The most common signatures to be seen on banknotes in circulation today, are Tito Mboweni and the current Governor, Gill Marcus.

The eight governors that have signed their name on the banknotes since 1920 are as follows


Mr W H Clegg, 17 December 1920 - 31 December 1931

Dr J Postmus, 1 January 1932 - 30 June 1945

Dr M H de Kock, 1 July 1945 - 30 June 1962

Dr G Rissik, 1 July 1962 - 30 June 1967

Dr T W de Jongh, 1 July 1967 - 31 December 1980

Dr G P C de Kock, 1 January 1981 - 7 August 1989 (the only person who died while still serving as Governor)

Dr C L Stals, 8 August 1989 - 7 August 1999

Mr T T Mboweni, 8 August 1999 - 8 November 2009

Ms G Marcus, 9 November 2009 - Current


Each of the Governors have served 2 terms of 5 years each with 2 exceptions.

  1. Mr William Henry Clegg, the first Governor of the Reserve Bank, requested to extend his term for another year in order to oversee the building of the Reserve Bank's new Head office.
  2. Dr Gerhardus Petrus Christiaan de Kock, who passed away while serving as the Governor for the Reserve bank.


Who's Online
We have 7 guests online

SA Topsites ::